KASPA - Can we learn anything from them

KASPA (KAS) has seen a meteoric rise from $0 to $1B in MC from 2021 to now. I’m studying them so we can learn what they have done to achieve such impressive results.

Background

KAS was launched in 2021 with no premine and no VC backing. The lead dev is a post doc at Harvard and is referenced in the original Ethereum whitepaper. The community bills him as one of the smartest devs in the space. KAS is a PoW DAG. Settlement is almost immediate and they do have fees. Their wallets are a PoS (Piece of shit) and they do not have smart contracts yet. In 2 years they have emitted > 70% of their tokens.

They are working on an upgrade to their consensus protocol to DAG KNIGHT. The founding dev wrote the paper and published it in 2023. That will allow KAS to settle > 2000 tps. They are working on a ledger integration and have submitted for review (same as NoM).

KAS has many exchange listings. They don’t have an on-chain funding mechanism. They pass the hat and the community pitches in to fund stuff: dev work, listings, marketing. etc… They currently have about 90k in their treasury. Their community has an “org” structure. They have devs, marketing people, community moderators, etc… One person is responsible for listings and is working with several institutional OTC desks.

All of this in 2 years. It’s impressive. I believe they have achieved such rapid growth because of the following:

1. Unique consensus (DAG) that is fast with a cool visual explorer https://kgi.kaspad.net/. It’s easy to show people this to explain how KAS works. For example, BTC stacks one block on top of another and its slow. KAS processes blocks in parallel and it’s fast. Easy to say, remember and understand. Who know if it works…